Atlanta Braves

755 Battery Avenue Southeast
Truist Park

The Atlanta Braves are an American professional baseball team based in the Atlanta metropolitan area. They compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the National League (NL) East division.

The name "Braves", which was first used in 1912, originates from a term for a Native American warrior.

The Braves were founded in Boston, Massachusetts, in 1871, as the Boston Red Stockings (not to be confused with the American League's Boston Red Sox).

After various name changes, the team eventually began operating as the Boston Braves, which lasted for most of the first half of the 20th century. Then, in 1953, the team moved to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and became the Milwaukee Braves, followed by the final move to Atlanta in 1966.

From 1991 to 2005, the Braves were one of the most successful teams in baseball, winning division titles an unprecedented 14 consecutive times.

The Braves advanced to the World Series six times, in 1991, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1999 and 2021. Winning the title in 1995 against the Cleveland Indians and again in 2021 against the Houston Astros.

Major rivalries:

• The Braves–Mets rivalry is a rivalry that remained heated through the early 2000s. The Braves and the New York Mets both play in the National League East.

• The rivalry with the Philadelphia Phillies lacks the history and hatred of the Mets. However, it has been the more important one in the last decade. Between 1993 and 2013, the two teams reigned almost exclusively as NL East champions.

April 2017, the Braves moved to their new stadium, SunTrust Park (now Truist Park), located in a suburb of Atlanta.